Cheesy Cauliflower: The Key to Resisting Temptation


http://www.flickr.com/photos/indigogoat/190262751/

Flickr image courtesy of indigogoat

Tonight my friends and husband went to a wonderful restaurant, which I frequented before I made my dietary changes. One of the dishes I loved to order from this restaurant is mac’n’cheese and I knew I would be horribly tempted if I even entered this establishment. Instead of setting myself up for failure, I decided to stay home and attempt to create a cheesy and satisfying dish I could eat within the confines of my diet.

Normally when making a cheese sauce, you first make a bechamel sauce, using a roux, and then add cheese. Because I am committed to not eating gluten and to eating low-carb, I needed to find another recipe for when I splurge. Instead of using the roux, I thicken this sauce by first thickening the cream and then adding cheese.  For the cheesy cauliflower, I first roast the cauliflower in the oven to add another layer of flavor and to concentrate the sugars.

Cheese Sauce

http://www.sxc.hu/photo/421161

Image courtesy of ngould.

Ingredients:

2 cups heavy cream

2 cups freshly grated cheese

1/4 tsp ground mustard

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1/8 tsp freshly grated nutmeg

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a sauce pan, heat the milk over medium-high heat until it is boiling.
  2. Continue boiling until the sauce is thickened like a cream sauce, about 15 – 20 minutes.
  3. Add the ground mustard, cayenne pepper, and nutmeg.  Stir to combine.
  4. Reduce heat to low and starting adding cheese by the handful.  Whisk they sauce until the cheese is completely melted and then add your next handful. I normally use whatever cheese I happen to have on hand – some cheeses that I find best for this application are fontina, smoked gouda, edam, havarti, brie, aged cheddar, and asiago. I do not grate the cheese ahead of time or purchase grated cheese because this adversely effects the quality of the sauce.
  5. Add salt and pepper to taste
  6. Serve immediately.

Cheesy Cauliflower

Ingredients:

1 lb fresh or frozen cauliflower

4 tbs olive oil

2 cups cheese sauce

1 cup grated cheese

pepper

Directions:

  1. Place rack in the top one third of the oven and preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Place cauliflower in a casserole dish and cover with olive oil.
  3. Roast for 10 minutes, turn, and roast for 10 minutes more until some browning is present.
  4. Remove cauliflower from oven and then add the cheese sauce and sprinkle with cheese.
  5. Return to the oven and bake for another 10 minutes or until the cheese has melted and browned.
  6. Allow to cool for 10 minutes and serve.

Cauliflower image courtesy of inigogoat.

Cheese image courtesy of ngould.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Cheesy Cauliflower: The Key to Resisting Temptation

  1. I will be trying this out, one of my favorite vegetables and who doesnt love cheese!

  2. lowcarbcookery

    This one was a favorite at a recent potluck. Tell me how you like it!

  3. Pingback: Spice-Crusted Pork Tenderloin | Low-Carb Cookery

Leave a Reply

