Mushroom and Leek Frittata: Savior of the Most Important Meal


mushroom

Flickr image via orchidgalore

Sometimes I get overwhelmed. I get overwhelmed by the demands of work, the demands of family, and the demands of home. These are the time when I don’t manage to get the slow cooker set up the night before. These are the times when I would order take out and scarf it down without a second thought and end up feeling worse than before. But now that I am being more mindful of what I put into my body, I stop before I pick up the phone and make a frittata.

A frittata is an Italian omelet and makes great refrigerator velcro. I often put left over veggies, cheese, and meat together to create delicious and easy meals, served with a salad. They also make great next-day lunches. Many of the recipes I encounter for frittata advise putting non-stick pans under the broiler, but I am not comfortable heating non-stick pans to that temperature. I use my stainless steel.

Here is a recipe I find myself making again and again.

Leeks, Mushrooms, and Smoked Gouda Frittata

Ingredients:

6 large eggs

2 tbs heavy cream

1/2 cup shredded smoked Gouda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp freshly ground pepper

1/4 cup (small handful) fresh, finely chopped parsley

1 large leek

2 cups mushrooms sliced

2 tbs butter or ghee

1 tbs olive oil or coconut oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat broiler on high and place the oven rack in the upper one third of the oven.

    Broken Egg

    Image via brokenarts

  2. Place a large, oven-safe skillet (10 – 12 inch) over medium high heat and add the olive oil and butter.
  3. Add the leeks and the mushrooms and cook until the leeks and brown and soft and the mushrooms have browned.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, heavy cream, salt, pepper, parsley and half of the cheese.
  5. Add the egg mixture to the pan. Slowly stir the sides and the bottom of the pan until you have large curds of egg mixture with wet parts in between.
  6. Allow the mixture to cook for another two minutes or until the underside has set.
  7. Sprinkle the rest of the cheese on top and place the frittata under the broiler for 5 – 7 minutes.
  8. When the top is brown, remove the pan from the oven.
  9. Allow to cool from 5 – 15 minutes before eating.

Flickr mushroom image via orchidgalore.

Egg image via brokenarts.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Mushroom and Leek Frittata: Savior of the Most Important Meal

  1. Pingback: Mushroom and Leek Frittata: Savior of the Most Important Meal

Leave a Reply

