Flax-seed Crackers


Image courtesy of Wikipedia

Flax seeds are tiny powerhouses of nutrition.  They are a great source of omega-3 fatty acids and soluble and insoluble fiber. I buy whole seeds and grind them in my trusty coffee grinder. Ground flax can be used in many baking applications, such as muffins, breads, brownies, and crackers.   Whenever I have made something with ground flax, I am always amazed at how bread-like is the final product.

The final mixture for this product is paste-like and sticky.  I discovered that I should wet my fingers before spreading out the crackers to avoid club fingers. The final product is crunchy and makes a good vehicle for nut butters, dips, and tuna or salmon salad.

Flax Seed Crackers

Ingredients:

1 cup ground flax seed

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 tbs garlic powder

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp ground pepper

1/2 cup water

2 tbs whole flax seed (optional)

Directions:

  1. Heat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl combine the flax seeds, Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.
  3. Add water little by little until the mixture forms a paste.
  4. On a silicon mat or parchment paper lined pan, spread the mixture out to 1/8th of an inch. I used my fingers, but you can use a spoon or a rolling-pin. I remove the ragged edges so they won’t burn.
  5. Sprinkle the tops of the “dough” with the whole flax seeds.
  6. Using a knife or a pizza cutter, cut the “dough” to the desired size.
  7. Cook the dough for 15 – 18 minutes.  This varies depending on humidity. Keep them in the oven until they are crisp.
3 Comments

Filed under baking

3 responses to “Flax-seed Crackers

  1. These are by far my favorite! I just call them crack though because I tend to eat them batches at a time! YUM!

  2. Pingback: Easy Salmon Salad with Green Apples and Sunflower Seeds | Low-Carb Cookery

  3. Vivian Partridge

    I made these and they are wonderful . I made them small for a canape type of use. I rolled them out between 2 pieces of waxed paper, dipped a Baileys shot glass rim in water then flax seed flour and used that to get small round crackers. I then used a metal spatula to put them on a cookie sheet with parchment paper and baked them. They look great on a tray with cheese, fruit, peperoni etc.

    I also made them big like a graham cracker and put cream cheese on the top. They were just like having a bagel and cream cheese for breakfast.

    Next I’m going to see how this does as a pizza crust.

Leave a Reply

